LOCUS MAP – MULTI FUNKTIONALE OUTDOOR NAVIGATIONS APP

Locus Map KANN Offline Navigieren

19.11.2015 Locus team Blog

Wir werden oft von neuen Nutzer von gefragt wieso man mit Locus Map nicht offline navigieren kann. Selbstverständlich wäre das eine wünschenswerte Fähigkeit für Outdoor Aktivitäten. Speziell in den Bergen passiert es schnell das es keinen GSM-Empfang mehr gibt. Die Antwort ist ganz einfach: Locus Map KANN offline navigieren – mit ein wenig Hilfe.

Der BRouter…

In der Grundeinstellung verwendet Locus Map für die Navigation YOURS als Routingdienst, eine online Navigation-Lösung. Weitere zur Auswahl stehende Online-Router sind OSRM und MapQuest. Wenn Sie einen Offline-Router brauchen so installieren Sie bitte den BRouter aus dem Google Play Store >>. Locus Map erkennt automatisch wenn diese App auf Ihren Gerät installiert ist und fügt den BRouter zu den verfügbaren Routindiensten hinzu.

Schritt für Schritt zur Offline-Navigation…

…um den BRouter in Locus Map einzubinden:

  • Als Erstes starten Sie den BRouter selbst
  • Wählen Sie den Download-Manager
  • Zoomen Sie in die Karte hinein und wählen Sie jene Bereiche die Sie für das Offline-Routing benötigen
  • Starten Sie Locus, gehen Sie in das Locus Menü > Einstellungen > Navigation > Quelle zur Routenberechnung und wählen Sie hier den BRouter als Datenquelle

Das war es auch schon. Wenn Sie nun neue Routen planen oder Punkt für Punkt zu einem Ziel gebracht werden wollen so navigiert Locus Map Sie ohne Internetverbindung.

Tips für Tüftler…

Auch wenn es das schlichte Aussehen des BRouters auf den ersten Blick nicht vermuten lässt so ist es doch so das der BRouter ein mächtiges Instrument ist dessen Verhalten sich über benutzerdefinierte Routingprofile und diverse weitere Einstellungen in einem weiten Bereich anpassen lässt. Eine Fülle an Tips und Informtionen finden sie hier: wiki-blog (EN) >>. oder hier im OSM-Forum. Für den BRouter gibt es auch ein Web-Anwendung, mit der Sie ihre Routen auf dem PC planen, diese als GPX-Datein exportieren und anschliessend in Locus Map importieren können.

Und wenn sie mit den BRouter nicht mögen…

Eine Alternative zum BRouter zur Offline-Navigation ist der GraphHopper.  Wir arbeiten zur Zeit an einem Grashopper Add-On für Locus Map und obwohl es erst in der Entwicklungsphase ist so funktioniert es bereits – was die Kommunikation mit Locus Map betrifft – sehr gut. Sie finden dieses Add-On noch nicht im Google Play-Store. Sollten Sie daran Interesse haben so finden Sie alle relavanten Informationen zusammengefasst in diesem Foren-Thema >>. Sehr wahrscheinlich wird es demnächst mehr zum Thema Grashopper & Locus geben…

Share Button

Mögen Sie Locus Map?

 Stáhnout

Comments

4

  • Bonjour
    Il est bien domache davoir acheter locus pro et que l on doit être connecté pour naviger même avec des cartes acheté et que l on soit limité dans le chargement de cartes
    Sygic payement mais hors ligne et que dire de navigator hors ligne et des cartes gratuités du monde entier je suis déçu d avoir acheté locus pro ou tous est payant et devoir être connecté et être limité dans le chargement de carte

    • Locus team

      Hi,
      as you can read in the article above, Locus Map CAN navigate offline and not only in Pro version but also in its Free version. Some maps are paid because their producers or providers do not offer them for free – we just display those maps in our app. And Sygic? Try to go hiking in the mountains or search for geocaches with Sygic 🙂 And the price difference between Locus and Sygic is not worth any comment. Have a nice day!

  • Peter

    Is it possible to define nogo points in this scenario?

    I found this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EOBLKOst6Zs
    but it seems to integrate BRouter in some other (older) way.

Locus Map - multifunctional outdoor navigation app

Locus Map CAN navigate offline

19.11.2015 Locus team Blog

Quite a few new users often ask us how come that Locus Map can’t navigate offline? That’s obviously important for outdoor activities. Just make a few steps behind the last barn of your city and you’re out of GSM signal. Especially in the mountains. The answer is, however, that Locus Map CAN navigate without internet. It just needs a little help.

Big BRouter

Locus Map in default settings offers navigation with help of YOURS online navigation service. Other online services like OSRM and MapQuest are also implemented. If you want offline navigation, you have to install cooperating routing app BRouter, available at Google Play Store >>. Locus Map identifies it in the system and adds it automatically into the routing services portfolio.

A couple of steps to make…

…so that BRouter works properly in Locus:

  • firstly, launch BRouter itself
  • select Download manager
  • zoom in and select the area you need for offline routing
  • set BRouter as default navigation data source in Locus menu > settings > navigation > navigation data source

And that’s all in a nutshell. When you need routing service during route planning or navigation from point to point, Locus will navigate you without internet connection.

Some geek stuff

Although BRouter user interface doesn’t look much like it, the app offers quite a lot of various settings, creating custom navigation profiles etc. A rich source of info and tips is this wiki-blog >>. BRouter provides also a web app, enabling route planning on a big PC screen and consequent export to GPS file and then to Locus Map.

What if I don’t want BRouter

An alternative to BRouter is routing software GraphHopper.  We’re working on a GH add-on and despite it’s still in development, considering its communication with Locus, it performs very well on the other hand. You won’t find it at Google Play yet – all necessary links and relevant information gather in this forum thread >>. May be in near future we’ll see much more…

Share Button

Do you like Locus Map?

 Stáhnout

Comments

4

  • Bonjour
    Il est bien domache davoir acheter locus pro et que l on doit être connecté pour naviger même avec des cartes acheté et que l on soit limité dans le chargement de cartes
    Sygic payement mais hors ligne et que dire de navigator hors ligne et des cartes gratuités du monde entier je suis déçu d avoir acheté locus pro ou tous est payant et devoir être connecté et être limité dans le chargement de carte

    • Locus team

      Hi,
      as you can read in the article above, Locus Map CAN navigate offline and not only in Pro version but also in its Free version. Some maps are paid because their producers or providers do not offer them for free – we just display those maps in our app. And Sygic? Try to go hiking in the mountains or search for geocaches with Sygic :) And the price difference between Locus and Sygic is not worth any comment. Have a nice day!

  • Peter

    Is it possible to define nogo points in this scenario?

    I found this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EOBLKOst6Zs
    but it seems to integrate BRouter in some other (older) way.